About Jude Nutter

Jude Nutter was born in North Yorkshire, England, and grew up near Hannover, in northern Germany. She currently lives and works in the twin cities of Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota. Her poems have appeared in numerous national and international journals and have received over 40 awards and grants, including three fellowships from the Minnesota State Arts Board, two McKnight Foundation Fellowships, The Larry Levis Prize, The Strokestown International Poetry Award (Ireland), The Robinson Jeffers Prize, The Marjorie J. Wilson Award for Excellence in Poetry, as well as grants from The Jerome Foundation, The Elizabeth George Foundation and the National Science Foundation’s Writers and Artists Program in Antarctica. Her first collection,  Pictures of the Afterlife (Salmon Poetry, Ireland), winner of the Irish Listowel Prize, was published in 2002.  The Curator of Silence (University of Notre Dame Press), her second collection, won the Ernest Sandeen Prize from the University of Notre Dame and was awarded the 2007 Minnesota Book Award in poetry.  A third collection, I Wish I Had a Heart Like Yours, Walt Whitman (University of Notre Dame Press), was awarded the 2010 Minnesota Book Award in poetry and voted Poetry Book of the Year by ForeWord Review. A fourth collection, Dead Reckoning, newly published by Salmon Poetry, Ireland.


2020 Adrienne Rich Award for Poetry, Beloit Poetry Journal, judged by Ellen Bass
2019 William Matthews Prize, judged by Dorianne Laux
2018 Moth International Prize, judged by Jacob Polley
2017 Artists Initiative Grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board
2016 Rumi Prize in Poetry, Arts and Letters, judged by Carol Frost
2016 Poetry Award, Briar Cliff Review
2016 Richard Peterson Poetry Prize, Crab Orchard Review
2015 Tom Howard Prize, Winning Writers
2013-2014 James Wright Poetry Award, Mid-American Review, judged by Benjamin Grossberg
2013 Joy Harjo Poetry Award, Cutthroat, judged by T.R. Hummer
2013 Strokestown International Poetry Award, judged by Iggy McGovern and Michael Schmidt
2012 Poetry Award, Sow’s Ear Review, judged by Michael Collier
2012 McKnight Artist Fellowship for Writers, Poetry
2012 Minnesota State Arts Board Artist Initiative Grant, Poetry
2011 Poetry Award, Briar Cliff Review
2011 Santa Fe Writers Project Award for Poetry
2010 American Literary Review Poetry Award
2010 Minnesota Book Award in Poetry
2010 Julia Peterkin Award, Converse College
2010 Robinson Jeffers Tor House Prize, judged by Mark Doty
2010 writing grant, The Elizabeth George Foundation
2009 Poetry Book of the Year award, ForeWord Reviews
2009 Briar Cliff Review Poetry Prize
2008 Poetry Prize, the Chautauqua Literary Journal
2008 McKnight Fellowship for Writers, Poetry
2007 Wabash Prize in Poetry, Sycamore Review, judged by Eavan Boland
2007 Editors’ Prize in Poetry, The Missouri Review
2007 Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize, Crazyhorse, judged by Marvin Bell
2007 The Ernest Sandeen Prize in Poetry, University of Notre Dame
2007 Minnesota Book Award in Poetry
2006 Minnesota State Arts Board Artist Initiative Grant.
2005 Winning Writers international award for War Poetry
2004 Paumanok Award
2003 Larry Levis Prize, The Missouri Review
2002 Chicago Literary Award for Poetry, Another Chicago Magazine
2002 Marjorie J. Wilson Award for Excellence in Poetry, MARGIE
2002 Minnesota State Arts Board Artist Initiative Grant
2001 Robinson Jeffers Tor House Prize for Poetry, judged by Jane Hirschfield
2000 Writers’ Week International Poetry Award, Listowel, Ireland
1999 Chiron Review Poetry Prize
1999 SASE/Jerome Fellowship in Poetry
1999 The Loft National Prize in Poetry, judged by Diane Wakoski
1998 Marlboro Prize for Poetry, Marlboro Review, judged by Stephen Dunn
1998 Wendy Norins Writing Award
1997 Miriam McFall Starlin Award for Poetry, University of Oregon